King’s Birthday at Island Waters Resort

Diko, Mameh, Tache, King, Ida and Dei (Diko's gf)

Diko, Mameh, Tache, King, Ida and Dei (Diko’s gf)

It must be more than two decades since I last went to the beach with relatives. Last April 8, King celebrated his 12th birthday overnight at Island Waters Resort in Morong, Bataan. It was a lot of fun!

Our room was on the 2nd floor. Great view!

Our room was on the 2nd floor. Great view! (photo by Dei)

Diko gifted King with a Black Forest cake. Yummm.

Diko gifted King with a Black Forest cake. Yummm. (photo by Dei)

By 2pm, King and I were ready to test the waters.

By 2pm, King and I were ready to test the waters. (photo by Tache)

Vacation at its finest. (photo by Dei)

Vacation at its finest. (photo by Dei)

Not a fan of volleyball, but if you're visiting here, I overheard it's only P100/hr for the ball. (photo by Dei)

Not a fan of volleyball, but if you’re visiting, I overheard it’s only P100/hr for the ball. (photo by Dei)

Reminds me of Keanu Reeves' 1989 movie "Life Under Water"...

Reminds me of Keanu Reeves’ 1989 movie Life Under Water

Infinity pool (photo by Dei)

Infinity pool (photo by Dei)

King was awarded Best in Swimming in school!

King was awarded Best in Swimming in school! (photo by Dei)

the pool from another angle (photo by Tache)

The pool from another angle (photo by Tache)

He's faster than me but at least may kasangga na ako sa paglangoy ngayon!

He’s faster than me but at least may kasangga na ako sa paglangoy ngayon!

Our official photographer, Tache!

Our official photographer, Tache!

Sand is gray but the beach is still beautiful.

Sand is gray but the beach is still beautiful.

"The sun is up, the sky is blue. It's beautiful. And so are you." ~ Dear Prudence by the Beatles

“The sun is up, the sky is blue. It’s beautiful. And so are you.” ~ Dear Prudence by The Beatles (photo by Dei)

The obligatory use of the monopod, haha...

The obligatory use of the monopod, haha… (photo by Dei)

The water stings a bit (jellyfish particles? or maybe it's just the salt cleansing our skin).

The water stings a bit (jellyfish particles? or maybe it’s just the salt cleansing our skin). (photo by Tache)

I named her Starr. Diko saw her approaching us. Really sweet dog.

I named her Starr. Diko saw her approaching us. Really sweet dog.

I asked if I can not wear a life vest; Manong said "no." Haha. (photo by Mameh)

I asked if I can not wear a life vest; Manong said “no.” Haha. (photo by Mameh)

Mameh would not permit us to ask the banana boatmen to go fast. Bummer! (photo by Mameh)

Mameh would not permit us to ask the banana boatmen to go fast. Bummer! (photo by Mameh)

Tache takes good photos with her iPad. I like this one with the swirls.

Tache takes good photos with her iPad. I like this one with the swirls. (photo by Tache)

Alas, it's the following day... (photo by Tache)

Alas, it’s the following day… (photo by Tache)

With the mountain as backdrop at past 6 in the morning.

With the mountain as backdrop at past 6 in the morning.

with Mameh (photo by Tache)

with Mameh (photo by Tache)

Mameh and Tache (photo by me)

Mameh and Tache (photo by me)

Behind the scenes (photo by Dei)

Behind the scenes (photo by Dei)

I took this jump shot. The titas of Bataan didn't wait for King!

I took this jump shot. The titas of Bataan didn’t wait for King!

Footprints in the sand (photo by Tache)

Footprints in the sand (photo by Tache)

Silhouette (photo by Tache)

Silhouette (photo by Tache)

Like what another blogger said, we're definitely going back here (for my birthday)!

Like what another blogger said, we’re definitely going back here (for my birthday)!

My first hu tieu, a Vietnamese dish served at Loleng's in Morong.

My first hu tieu, a Vietnamese dish served at Loleng’s in Morong.

Homeward bound (photo by Tache)

Homeward bound (photo by Tache)

'Ohana' means family. Next time, I'm bringing Ma, Jack and Shaw. Good to know that this is a pet-friendly establishment!

‘Ohana’ means family. Next time, I’m bringing Ma, Jack and Shaw. Good to know that this is a pet-friendly establishment!

Leave a Reply

