Meet Jack Bauau

Here's Jack in his mat with his toy. Thanks Ma for letting me adopt him. (Just like Dollar, he is a white Aspin with brown spots.)

Here’s Jack in his mat with his toy. Thanks Ma for letting me adopt him. (Just like Dollar, he is a white Aspin with brown spots.)

It’s been three weeks already after my brother Dollar passed away. My mom and I said we will not get another dog. I mean, how could we even think of loving another? We could never replace him. Dollar is our one and only boy… Until Jack (formerly Charot) inched his way into our hearts — right when I needed him most.

If you have lost someone you love, then you know how bad it gets. Every time you think about that person, memories and emotions flood you and you feel like you can’t take it anymore. Closing your eyes always leads to tears streaming down your face, straight to the pillow you use to mute your sobs. You start looking for objects this person has touched, for places he has been to, for smells that he liked, for food that he loved. You find yourself sitting in a corner with your head between your hands, asking why did this have to happen? He was just there. HE WAS JUST THERE.

I didn’t get depressed about it but the moment I’ve got nothing left to do — I’m currently a bum, so this is usually the case — sadness hits me. Browsing through Dollar’s pictures and writing about him calmed me down. Then it ceased to be enough. Playing with cats didn’t help either. In my mind I was like, “I should be playing with Dollar, not you Putot.” One day, I was standing in front of his grave with my sorrow in my sleeves, when a wet snout nudged me behind the knee. I smiled, instantly. It was Charot. He was happy to see me and so was I. Ma later told me she saw him running down the street, apparently to greet me.

My first photo of Jack when he was still Charot, taken 14 July 2013 at dusk.

My first photo of Jack when he was still Charot, taken 14 July 2013 at dusk.

He wasn’t popular with the villagers because he had mange. Before, when I used to walk with Dollar, Charot tried approaching us because he wanted to play. I didn’t let him, afraid his skin disease might be transmitted to my boy. When Dollar was gone, he became my friend. In fact, he became my Dr. Dog. He helped me cope with grief just by being there. It’s an amazing gift dogs have.

The problem now is we bonded. I let him playbite despite knowing he is dirty. I started feeding him, but since Ma was closer to the cats, they got more servings. He also trots with us when we walk my second cousins’ dogs Sparky and Rainbow. The villagers seemed to warm up to him too, seeing he was always with us. The laborers even nicknamed him Bakbak (maybe for his scabs) and calls him when we pass by. Everybody noticed how his coat was improving, even prior to my convincing Ma to give him a bath. Which we did by the side of the street last Thursday, borrowing a neighbor’s hose. I guess I was able to persuade her when I told Charot, “don’t worry, once I get a job, Ma will allow me to give you a bath.” She probably thought that wasn’t gonna happen anytime soon that’s why she gave in. LOL. (See my previous post Me, Jobless.)

So it's true. Sometimes you pick the dog, sometimes the dog picks you...

So it’s true. Sometimes you pick the dog, sometimes the dog picks you…

Each day I was excited to rouse from bed so I’ll get to play with Charot. After we ran and chased each other outside in the morning, which became our habit, he would lie down in the middle of the street and sleep. Same if I was solving the daily crossword outside the house sitting in a slab of rock, he’d be dosing off on the road. So I got the idea of letting him in. Unfortunately for him, he liked our garage — Ma had to evict him when night came. He whined but eventually went away. I had an interview that Friday so it was just the two of them. When I came home, Ma said we can’t have him. It’s too much responsibility, not again. We can hand him food but that’s it. I ate my dinner sobbing (I doubt she noticed).

Ma would scare me by saying things like, “when we’ve made him healthy somebody’s gonna eat him for sure.” Or “a car’s gonna run him over ‘coz he sleeps in the road in front of our house,” which almost happened last Sunday. I was solving my puzzle when a speeding red car came into my view. I shouted, “Charot, come!” He got up and jogged towards me, unaware of the danger. “Ma, we gotta let him sleep in the garage.” By afternoon, she gave him a bath in our laundry area. I suddenly had hope — she wouldn’t have done that if she still wanted him out. Besides, she asked the alley boys if they owned Charot and they said the teacher did, not them. And that teacher denied the allegation. But I ain’t pushing my luck; I didn’t ask Ma if Charot can live with us just yet. So our next concern was how he would be able to come and go as he pleases. We studied our gate and concluded that we could saw off one part so he’d fit right through. That Sunday, he slept overnight in our garage.

That's how Jack gets in -- and how he doesn't come out, thanks to those vicious cats blocking the way. I thought about putting a sign but Ma said it won't work. LOL.

That’s how Jack gets in — and how he doesn’t come out, thanks to those vicious cats blocking the way. I thought about putting a sign but Ma said it won’t work. LOL.

We were surprised how well-behaved he was when it’s mealtime. He’d be ecstatic to receive his food but would never bother Ma or me while we’re eating. He also eats bananas, and apples down to the core! He doesn’t go inside the house without permission, which for Ma is awesome. At night when our doors are closed, he stays in the garage, never begging to be let in. The only challenge now are the cats. They can’t get over the fact that we already have a new pet. They would hiss at him and do kung fu to drive him away whenever there’s food. Scary cats I tell you.

Monday made it official. Dollar’s spare collar found its owner. Charot is now Jack Bauau, my dog. His new name’s taken from our all-time fave TV series ‘24‘ whose lead character is Jack Bauer. I decided on this name because like the latter, our Jack is very intelligent and highly skilled. He can learn a trick in one sitting, so to speak. He mastered the following in one day: sit, out (of the house), jump (up and through a hoop) and his ultimate favorite, fetch. Our neighbors are impressed. I Googled yesterday and found a nice site on teaching dog tricks. How I wish my Instagram had video! (See more of Jack by searching for the tag #JackBauau on IG.) Below’s our first trial of fetch.

It’s only Tuesday — our adventure is just beginning…

4 thoughts on “Meet Jack Bauau

  1. Pingback: I’m Sorry Jack | Ida O.

  2. Hello Ida,
    Very touching post about your dog Jack. I can relate to your feelings about Jack, I have seven Jack Russel Terrier cross dogs who I love very dearly. They came from two litters & I delivered each of them myself from birth. They are my constant companions, everywhere I go, they are with me. I always have a pack of medium sized white dogs with black & brown heads around me. JRs are fiercely loyal, loving dogs who are excellent watchdogs. BTW there are three or four puppies which will be available for adoption after the secod week of March, these pups are siblings to my present pack. You might know some people who are interested & able to give these wonderful dogs a good & loving home. I prefer to give them to people who will love them rather than sell them & not sure how they will take care of the dog. I must be able to talk to interested parties before I decide to give them a pup. I can send you pics if you want. The Best to you & your baby Jack.

    • Hi Joel!

      Sorry I was only able to read your comment just now. Please email me photos of your dogs: idao.blog@gmail.com and I’ll post them on my personal Facebook page. Is there a pup left for adoption? Good job on raising JRs. I’ve loved them ever since I saw the movie The Mask — and loved them more when watched My Dog Named Skip (what a tearjerker!).

      Thank you for wishing my Jackie Boy the best. He is currently on medication for his anemia/blood parasitism; the latter brought about a kidney infection, which sounds really scary…

      Hope to hear from you soon!

  3. Pingback: Jackie B: Back in UP! | Ida O.

Leave a Reply

